Deleting your social media accounts in an attempt to revive your social life

Recently I had the luxury of deleting my Facebook. Not because I hate the people who created Facebook, but because I slowly started to hate my own Facebook friends. I found myself unfollowing someone new every other day. I unfollowed the new moms, the moms that talked about their ridiculously cute babies (or not so cute babies) all the time. I unfollowed the party promoters, the super jesus freaks, the annoying newly outted lesbian, the mix tape guy, the extremist guy, the chef, the single dad, the married couple and finally; my mom.

Please, don’t get it twisted. I do realize that I have become a complete dooshy Grandma that hates everyone except her cats (in my case a Lhasa and a Shitzu) but I can’t be the only one. After numerous “Facebook beefs” and countless “shade” thrown via posts, I just decided to call it quits. Quite frankly I was partially embarrassed at my recent Angela Davis/Assata Shakur persona. In the wake of #blacklivesmatter I started to take my anger out on social media, via Instagram and Facebook. Although I am still wholeheartedly ‘Black’ (scouts honor) I’m just exhausted with the fact that social media has no filter, and is 24/7.

At one point I was the braggadocious turn up queen, with the bomb weave and the best Mac makeup a financial aid refund could buy. I did that to make others envious while making myself feel a little better (shrugs). To me comments on how much weight I had lost was like an old episode of Jenny Jones titled “After High School; Look at her now”. It was to the point that my Instagram name was “Brooklyn_Narcissist”. I knew exactly what I was, but I didnt know how sick it was making me. Eventually I became that person watching others sucees while im in a bad space, now that Im getting a taste of my poisonus venum, its not so nice.

No one is wrong for feeling overwhelmed by the Italian party girls that are seemingly ‘white girl wasted’ in ALL of their pics from saturday night. Or being slightly annoyed by the guy who read a few Kemetic science books over the summer so he’s now by default a descendant of an Egyptian God….however, if you feel yourself changing on a psychological and emotional level, it may be time to take a break from the constant barrages of someone elses life highlights.

At this point, I’m emotionally unavailable. For 99 reasons, Facebook is definitely one of them. If I was to see one of my many followers I would duck behind anything, even children. I don’t even give my cell phone number out, more like “ummm. Hit me up on FB”. Dont get me wrong, I love to talk….about anything but personal things. When people cry Im like “please be over 21 so I can hand you a beer”. Lets not even mention using social media to play private eye on my boyfriend!

Why I deleted my social media? Because I felt bombarded by the highlight of people’s lives. Rationally you know most people post the good times, but when you got wet by a speeding bus on a day you lost your job after selling your car and you see someone post while in Jamaica, when you can’t even afford a Jamaican patty…uuhhh yeah

How? I google’d how to delete social media sites (facebook) ‘permanently’. Not just deactivate (if you’re about that life). It can take up to 90 days, I think it’s a deterrent but they say something about the process of deleting things.

Prepare yourself for withdrawals. Youre going to think about Keyshia and her FB saga drama and if she ever found out if her man was sleeping with a man….but DONT GIVE IN!

One thought on “Deleting your social media accounts in an attempt to revive your social life

Leave a comment